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FY21 INTRODUCTION

A tax exemption is a release from the obligation to
pay all or a portion of the taxes assessed on a
parcel of prop-erty. Exemptions are conferred by
the State Legislature (Massachusetts General
Laws Chapter 59, Section 5) on particular cate-
gories of persons or property. The categories of
persons to whom exemp-tions are conferred,
subject to certain qualifications, are surviving
spouses or minor children, veterans, Dblind
persons, elderly persons, and surviving spouses or
minor children of fire fighters or police officers
killed in the line of duty. These exemptions do not
affect the valuation of the property.

APPLICATIONS

Applications are available from the local
Assessors' Office. The applications must be filed
annually with the Assessors' Office by April 1, or
within three months of the mailing date of the

actual tax bill, whichever is later. Filing an
application does not stay the collection of the tax.

DOCUMENTATION

An applicant for an exemption must provide the
assessors with whatever information is reasonably
required to establish eligibility. The information
requested may include, but not be limited to: (1)
birth certificates, (2) evidence of domicile and
occupancy, (3) income tax returns and (4) bank
statements.
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EXEMPTIONS

Clause 17D - Surviving Spouse, Minor Child, or Elderly Person

Amount:

$312.91 current (changes each year...)

Eligibility:

As of July 1 of the tax year, an
individual must be either (1) a
surviving spouse or minor child who
owns and occupies the property as his
or her domicile; or (2) a person at
least 70 years old who has owned and
occupied the property as his or her
domicile for at least five years.

Documents: Birth Cert. Or Passport

Ilncome:

There are no income guidelines.

Whole
Estate:

The applicant's whole estate (bank
accounts, stocks, bonds, some types
of personal property), excluding the
value of the domicile (up to three
dwelling units), cannot exceed
$40,000.

Documents: Financial Statements

Clause 18 - Age, Infirmity, and Poverty

Amount: Determined by the Board of
Assessors, up to the full amount of
taxes assessed.

Eligibility: |As of July 1, of the tax year, an

individual must be at least 65 years
old and must be able to document
medical and financial hardship.

Documents: Birth Certificate Or
Passport, and others as requested
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Clause 22 - Veterans

Amount:

$400 - Full exemption, depending on
the nature and extent of the disability.

Eligibility:

As of July 1 of the tax year, an
individual must have lived in
Massachusetts for at least five years
or must have been domiciled in
Massachusetts for at least six months
prior to entering the service and must
be either (1) a veteran or spouse (or
his or her surviving spouse who
remains unmarried) who has a service
connected disability of at least ten
percent (as verified by the Veterans
Administration) or was awarded the
Purple Heart, or (2) the parent of a
serviceman who lost his or her life
during wartime.

Documents: From VA Administration

Clause 37A - Blind Persons

Amount:

$500

Eligibility:

As of July 1, of the tax year, the blind
individual must own the property and
occupy it as his or her primary
domicile. A certificate from the
Commission for the Blind must be
provided annually with the application
for exemption.
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Clause 41A - Tax Deferral

Amount:

Any or all of the taxes assessed may
be deferred (not exempted) with
interest (8%) until the property is sold
or transferred, or until the demise of
the owner, at which point the taxes
are repaid. The cumulative total of
taxes deferred cannot exceed fifty
percent of the applicant’s share of the
assessed value of the property, and a
lien is recorded by the Town.

Eligibility:

As of July 1, of the tax year, an
individual must be at least 65 years
old, must have owned and occupied
any property for at least five years,
and must have been continuously
domiciled in Massachusetts for at
least the ten preceding years.

Documents: Birth Cert. Or Passport

Ilncome:

The gross receipts cannot exceed
$40,000
Documents: Financial Statements
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Clause 41C - Elderly Persons

Amount:

$1,000

Eligibility:

As of July 1, of the tax year, an
individual must be at least 65 years
old, must have owned and occupied
any property for at least five years,
and must have been continuously
domiciled in Massachusetts for at
least the ten preceding years.

Documents: Birth Cert. Or Passport

Income:

The gross receipts of the applicant in
the year preceding the application
cannot exceed $20,000 if single,
$30,000 if married or in a domestic
partnership.

Documents: Federal Tax Return

Whole
Estate:

The whole estate of the applicant,
excluding the value of the domicile
(up to three dwelling units), cannot
exceed $40,000 if single, $55,000 if
married or in a domestic partnership.
Documents: Financial Statements

Clause 42 - Surviving Spouse (Clause 43 - Minor

Children) of Fire Fighter or Police Officer Killed

in the Line of Duty

Amount:

Full exemption of taxes assessed

Eligibility:

As of July 1, of the tax year, an
individual must be a surviving spouse
of a fire fighter (or police officer)
who was killed in the line of duty,
must remain unmarried, and must
own and occupy the property.
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Section 5K = Senior Volunteer Work Credit

Amount:

$750/55.5 Hours or $1,000/74

Eligibility:

A taxpayer must be at least 60 years
old and must own property in
Provincetown. It is not required that
the taxpayer be domiciled in
Provincetown. The taxpayer must
provide volunteer services to the
Town and will be credited for said
services at a rate consistent with the
state’s minimum wage. As of January
1,2021, the minimum wage IS
$13.50/hour, which equates to 55.5
hours for the $750 exemption or
74.00 hours for the $1,000
exemption. All hours must be com-
pleted in the same calendar year.
Typically, no partial credit IS
given(55.5 hours or 74 hours
only)Due to the Covid-19 pandemic,
for years 2020 and 2021,credit will
be given for the hours worked. Apply
through the Council on Aging, 2
Mayflower Street or telephone 487-
7083.

Documents: Birth Cert. Or Passport

Income:

No income requirements.

Whole
Estate:

No requirements.

Last Updated: 10/23/20
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