See Mass.gov for When Can My Business Open and Four-Phased Approach information, following transition from stay-at-home order to Safer at Home Advisory. Click here to ask questions or submit comments about reopening, and here to report complaints.
Click here for revised Stay at Home orders: beginning on Friday, November 6, 2020, all Massachusetts residents are advised to stay home between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. The Governor has announced the following orders:
· COVID-19 Order No. 53 Order Requiring Early Closing for Certain Businesses and Activities, Limiting Hours for Alcohol and Adult Use Cannabis Sales, and Modifying Chapter 138 License Renewal Requirements [download]
COVID-19 Order No.56 Rescinds Order 51, Re: Phase III Step 2 - effective Monday, November 9, 2020.
Here is the June 1, 2020 Select Board and Board of Health Joint Emergency Rule and Order (Rev. 7/13/20).
The following sector-specific safety standards have been updated or changed (Effective 10/29/20):
o Explanation of “organized groups” being social gatherings, such as a birthday party.
o Explanation competitive leagues must follow Youth and Adult Recreation standards.
o Clarify gloves are required for all services, except massage.
o Clarify occupancy calculation should include customers and workers.
o Reiterate social distancing and face covering requirement.
o Differentiate between boat, bus and walking tours.
o Examples provided of an enclosed space, such as single room or basement.
o Prohibition on multi-use sampling.
o Definition of performance venue added.
Click here to review the all sector-specific safety standards.
Sector-specific Workplace Safety Standards for Phase III, Step 2: The following sector-specific workplace safety standards go into effect Monday, October 5th.
- Arcades & Other Indoor Games & Recreation Businesses
- Close Contact Personal Services
- Fitness Centers and Health Clubs
- Golf Facilities
- Indoor and Outdoor Events
- Operators of Lodgings
- Retail Businesses
- Theaters and Performance Venues
See Joint Statement from David Abramson, Select Board Chair and Steve Katsurinis, Board of Health Chair Regarding Baker Administration’s Updated State Re-Opening Guidance for Lower Risk Communities, September 30, 2020.
COVID-19 Travel Order: All visitors entering Massachusetts, including returning residents, who do not meet an exemption, are required to:
- Complete the Massachusetts Travel Form prior to arrival, unless you are visiting from a lower-risk state designated by the Department of Public Health.
- Quarantine for 14 days or produce a negative COVID-19 test result that has been administered up to 72-hours prior to your arrival in Massachusetts.
- If your COVID-19 test result has not been received prior to arrival, visitors, and residents must quarantine until they receive a negative test result.
- Failure to comply may result in a $500 fine per day.
Governor Baker updated gatherings order, effective Tuesday, August 11, which will:
- Reduce the limit on outdoor gatherings from 100 to 50 people (indoor gatherings limit will remain at 25 people)
- Apply these limits to all types of gatherings, on both public and private property
- Require face coverings where more than 10 people from different households will be mixing.
Restaurants Step 1 Phase 3: UPDATE Effective August 11, 2020 Restaurant rules have been updated to state that alcoholic beverages may only be served for on-site consumption if accompanied by orders for food prepared on-site. See Order 50 for adjustments to outdoor dining.
Retail Step 1 Phase 3
Indoor and Outdoor Events Step 1 Phase 3
UPDATED Restaurant, Retail and Indoor/Outdoor Events Safety Standards are effective September 28, 2020.
Lodgings Step1 Phase 3
Theaters and Performance venues Step 1 Phase 3
Fitness Centers and Health Clubs Step 1 Phase 3
Indoor Recreation Step 1 Phase 3
Museums/Cultural/Historic/Tours Step 1 Phase 3
Indoor Pools Step 1 Phase 3
Close Personal Contact Personal Services Step 1 Phase 3
Sectors Not Otherwise Addressed Step 1 Phase 3
Here is the Order Further Advancing the Re-Opening of Phase 2 Enterprises starting June 22, 2020.
Here is the COVID-19 State of Emergency webpage with all updates, emergency orders and State Guidance.
All businesses must meet self-certification requirements before reopening in the appropriate Phase.
Here are links to the State website for the documents you are required to review, complete and/or post:
Additionally, businesses must meet Sector-Specific Guidance Safety Standards and Checklists to reopen.
These documents must be available upon request or inspection and operators are responsible for ensuring compliance with these safety standards and checklists.
Here are links to Sector-Specific Safety Standards and Checklists (scroll to ’Quick Reference Document’ for two downloadable PDFs) for:
Restaurants and the additional Provincetown Board of Health and Licensing Board joint guidance
Step 2 of Phase 2 Starting 6/22/20
Retail ’Step 1’ reopening in Phase 2
Retail ’Step 2’ of Phase 2
Personal Services ’Step 1’ reopening in Phase 2
Personal Services with Close Contact, allowed in ’Step 2’ reopening in Phase 2
Hair Salons and Barbershops ’Step 1’ of reopening Phase 2
Hair Salons and Barbershops ’Step 2’ of reopening Phase 2
See Phase 2 Reopening Order and June 1, 2020 Guidance for the Industries on the Re-Opening Plan.
Click here for print-ready posters prepared by Cape Cod Re-Opening Task Force (such as ’No Mask No Service’)